C China Medical Guide

Guide

Medical costs in China: what things actually cost, and how to check your own hospital's prices

Most guides to medical costs in China either publish no numbers at all, or publish numbers with no source. This page does both halves: it gives you ranges drawn from government price documents and hospitals' own published price lists, and it shows you how to get the exact figure for the specific hospital that will treat you.

Two things to understand before you read the tables, because both change the answer by a factor of ten.

There is no national price. Medical service prices are set province by province. An ordinary outpatient consultation is around ¥6–10 across most of China — and ¥50 in Beijing, which abolished its registration fee in 2017 and replaced it with a separate medical service fee (医事服务费) that never came back down. Same service, five to eight times the price, purely because of the city you are standing in.

The tier you choose matters more than the city. The same appointment can cost ¥10 in an ordinary public outpatient clinic, ¥300 in that hospital's 特需 (VIP) clinic, or up to ¥2,840 at a private international hospital. The medicine is frequently identical. What you are buying is time, English, and a shorter queue.

One consultation, priced by hospital tier and city, from ¥0.50 to ¥2,840 Public hospital — ordinary tiers LINEAR SCALE · ¥0 TO ¥100 MOST PROVINCES Convenience clinic ¥0.50 Ordinary outpatient ¥6–10 Associate chief physician ¥13–16 Chief physician ¥15–21 BEIJING — ITS OWN MEDICAL SERVICE FEE SCHEDULE Ordinary outpatient ¥50 Chief physician ¥80 Named expert ¥100 Once you step up a tier LINEAR SCALE · ¥0 TO ¥3,000 PUBLIC HOSPITAL — SPECIAL-NEEDS / INTERNATIONAL TIER Basic clinic (Ningbo) ¥200 Attending physician (Guilin) ¥300 Flat clinic fee (Lishui) ¥300 Chief physician (Guilin) ¥800 Professor (Shenzhen) ¥1,000 PRIVATE INTERNATIONAL HOSPITAL Ordinary outpatient (Beijing) ¥500–1,800 Specialist (Beijing) ¥840–2,840 Government-set price Market-set price
Consultation prices published by the hospitals and provincial authorities listed at the end of this page. Both panels use a linear scale — the lower panel spans thirty times the range of the upper one, which is the point. Where a figure is published as a range, the solid part of the bar is the lowest published price and the paler extension runs to the highest.
All amounts are in renminbi (¥). Convert at whatever rate applies when you read this — but budget in renminbi, because that is the currency the hospital will charge you in. And treat every figure below as a planning tool, not a quote. The last section of this page is about getting the real number.

Why there is no national price list

Medical service prices in China are not set nationally. Price items are managed at provincial level, and new items have to be reviewed and confirmed by the provincial health authority before a price can even be applied for. On top of that, public hospitals must follow government-guided prices and may not adjust them on their own, while private hospitals set their own prices for market-adjusted items.

The practical consequence: the same scan at the same hospital grade costs different amounts in two different provinces, and a private hospital is not bound by the public price at all. Anyone quoting you one national number is guessing. The tables below show the spread rather than hiding it.

Seeing a doctor: consultation and registration

In provinces that have adopted the national price-item framework, the old separate registration fee (挂号费) has been merged into a single outpatient consultation fee (门诊诊查费), with an add-on for senior job titles. Older price lists may still show registration and consultation as two lines. Either way, the total is in the range below.

Item Most provinces (tertiary hospital) Beijing (tertiary hospital)
Ordinary outpatient consultation (attending physician and below) ¥6–10 ¥50
Associate chief physician (副主任医师) ¥13–16 ¥60
Chief physician (主任医师) ¥15–21 ¥80
Named expert (知名专家 / 名专家) ¥30–96 ¥100
Emergency department ¥21–24 ¥70
Inpatient consultation (per day, while admitted) ¥14.4–23 ¥100
Convenience clinic (便民门诊) — repeat prescriptions only ¥0.50

Sources: Yunnan Provincial Healthcare Security Administration price schedule (¥10/¥8/¥6 by institution class, plus add-ons for senior titles); Henan 豫医保办〔2025〕51号 (¥10 base, +¥6 associate chief, +¥11 chief); Sichuan, Bazhong Healthcare Security Administration (¥9/¥13/¥15); Shenyang Municipal Health Commission price schedule and Shenyang Municipal Hospital of TCM 2025 price disclosure (¥9.60/¥14.40/¥19.20, named experts ¥36/¥60/¥96, emergency ¥24); Henan Provincial Chest Hospital 2026 price list (emergency ¥21, inpatient ¥23/day, convenience clinic ¥0.50); Beijing Municipal Health Commission (¥50/¥60/¥80/¥100, emergency ¥70, inpatient ¥100/day).

Tests and imaging

This is where the bill grows fastest, and where the rules matter. CT and MRI are billed per body part, not per session — a rule introduced specifically to stop hospitals splitting a scan into several chargeable parts. If a doctor orders "a CT of the chest", that is one part. Ask what has been ordered, because two parts is roughly double.

One body part versus two: how a CT order doubles, because CT and MRI are billed per body part Chest CT one body part ordered chest not scanned ¥156–195 one chargeable part Chest and abdomen CT two body parts ordered chest abdomen ¥312–390 two chargeable parts CT and MRI are billed per body part, not per session. One scan of one region is one chargeable part; a hospital may not split a single examination into several. MRI is billed the same way, at ¥504 per part.
Prices per body part at tertiary public hospitals, from the Henan Provincial Chest Hospital disclosure and the Guang'an (Sichuan) large-equipment price notice; the per-part billing rule comes from the Shanghai Medical Security Bureau notice, both cited at the end of this page. Contrast agent is charged separately on top.
Item Documented price (tertiary public hospital)
X-ray, per view ¥47
Mammogram, one side ¥100
CT, plain scan — per body part ¥156–195
CT, with contrast — per body part ¥265
CT angiography, per blood vessel ¥520
MRI, plain scan — per body part ¥504
MRI, with contrast — per body part ¥555
Colour Doppler ultrasound — per body part ¥99
Cardiac ultrasound ¥143
Complete blood count (5-part analyser) ¥25
Urinalysis (10–11 items) ¥7
Stool routine ¥10
H. pylori breath test (14C urea) ¥110
Two things these numbers exclude. First, contrast agent — for a CT or MRI with contrast, the drug itself is normally charged separately and can add several hundred yuan. Second, the doctor's reading where a hospital bills it as a separate item. Ask for both when you ask for an estimate.

Sources: Henan Provincial Chest Hospital 2026 price list (CT ¥195 plain / ¥265 with contrast / ¥520 angiography, MRI ¥504 plain / ¥555 with contrast, X-ray ¥47, mammogram ¥100); Shenyang Municipal Hospital of TCM 2025 price disclosure (ultrasound ¥99, cardiac ultrasound ¥143, complete blood count ¥25.30, urinalysis ¥7, stool routine ¥10, 14C breath test ¥110); Guang'an (Sichuan) price notice lowering large-equipment examination prices (CT ¥156 per part at tertiary level); Shanghai Medical Security Bureau 沪医保价采发〔2021〕33号 (CT and MRI to be billed per body part; the attached schedule is the maximum charge for Shanghai public hospitals).

Bed, nursing and daily inpatient charges

If you are admitted — or even held for observation — these are charged per day and they add up quietly. Note that nursing level is assigned by the hospital, not chosen by you, and that a "special-grade" nursing charge is a clinical classification, not a service upgrade you are buying.

Item Per day (tertiary public hospital)
Bed, multi-bed room (4+ patients) ¥18
Bed, three-bed room ¥32
Bed, two-bed room ¥47–77
Bed, single room ¥150
Bed, suite ¥480
Intensive care bed ¥65–66
Laminar-flow clean room ¥262
Special-grade nursing ¥162
Level I nursing ¥50
Level II nursing ¥25
Level III nursing ¥15

Sources: Shenyang Municipal Hospital of TCM 2025 price disclosure (beds ¥39/¥74/¥77/¥150/ ¥480, intensive care bed ¥66); Henan Provincial Chest Hospital 2026 price list (beds ¥18/¥32/¥47, intensive care ¥65, laminar-flow ¥262, nursing ¥15/¥25/¥50/¥162).

The middle tier: 特需 and international departments in public hospitals

特需 (literally "special needs") is the tier most foreign patients never hear about, and it is usually the best value on this page. You get an English-capable doctor, a private consulting room, an appointment that is actually honoured, and a dedicated guide — inside a top public hospital, at a fraction of private-hospital prices.

It is not covered by Chinese basic medical insurance, and its prices are market-set rather than government-set — but with real constraints. A public hospital must file the prices with the provincial price authority and publicly display them; 特需 services may not exceed 10% of the hospital's total service volume or expenditure; 特需 beds may not exceed 10% of licensed beds; and the doctors staffing a 特需 clinic must hold senior titles.

Roughly, expect ¥200–1,000 per consultation and ¥800–3,000 per ward day at the premium end. But a range across four hospitals in four provinces is not a useful comparison — so here is what each of them actually published, side by side.

Hospital Consultation, by job title Ward, per day Also worth knowing
Nanxishan Hospital (广西壮族自治区南溪山医院)
Guilin, Guangxi · 9 Sep 2026
¥300 attending
¥500 associate chief
¥800 chief physician
¥80–880
separate bed disclosure, Dec 2025
Inpatient consultation up to ¥800/day. Escort nursing ¥300/day, errand service ¥100/day. Its list also carries a 特需 outpatient consultation item for major (grade 3–4) surgery at ¥8,000, and ¥3,000 for grade 1–2 surgery.
Lishui Central Hospital (丽水市中心医院)
Lishui, Zhejiang · 13 Aug 2026
¥300 — a flat clinic fee, not priced by title ¥800 single room
¥1,200 around surgery
¥3,000 complex or multi-site surgery
Doctors holding associate-chief rank or above. Bedside examination surcharge ¥100 per visit. All self-pay, not covered by medical insurance.
Ningbo University Affiliated First Hospital (宁波大学附属第一医院)
Ningbo, Zhejiang · 14 Aug 2026
¥200 basic international clinic
¥300 associate chief
¥500 chief physician and senior
¥500 premium service clinic
¥800–3,000
by room type and campus
Inpatient consultation ¥150/day. Everything else — tests, examinations, treatment, anaesthesia, surgery, nursing — is charged at 2–3× the government price. It says so on the menu. See the warning below.
Shenzhen Longgang District People's Hospital (深圳市龙岗区人民医院)
Shenzhen, Guangdong · 21 Apr 2025
¥600 associate chief
¥800 chief physician
¥1,000 named expert / professor
Not disclosed in this notice Remote specialist consultation ¥1,500–2,000 per hour. All items self-pay. The named-expert tier requires an A+ or top-ranked tertiary hospital specialist.
Ask which charging model the hospital uses — this is the biggest trap in the tier. Rules differ by province, and there are two documented, opposite approaches. Both are legal and both are disclosed — but only one of them keeps your total bill near the consultation price. On Model A the 特需 premium is capped and predictable. On Model B a modest ¥200 consultation can lead to a very expensive scan.
Two documented ways a Chinese public hospital prices 特需 services, line by line Model A — Hainan rules Only four items may carry a special price. Model B — Ningbo, as published Clinical tests, treatment, anaesthesia, surgery and nursing at 2–3× the price. Outpatient consultation own 特需 price own 特需 price Inpatient bed own 特需 price own 特需 price Inpatient consultation own 特需 price own 特需 price Nursing own 特需 price ×2–3 Tests and examinations government price ×2–3 Treatment and surgery government price ×2–3 Anaesthesia government price ×2–3 Medicine and consumables government price not stated — ask Illustrative — the same four items at prices published on this page: a ¥300 特需 consultation, a ¥195 CT, a ¥25 blood count and a ¥504 MRI, billed under each hospital's own stated rule. ¥1,024 ¥300 + ¥724 × 1 ¥1,748–2,472 ¥300 + ¥724 × 2–3
The arithmetic in the lower boxes is mine, not any hospital's: it adds up prices published on this page under each rule as published. No hospital publishes this exact basket and neither total is a quote. The rules themselves — which is what the diagram is for — are quoted from Hainan Provincial Healthcare Security Administration and from Ningbo University Affiliated First Hospital's own price menu.
Ask a direct question before you book: "For services other than the consultation, will I be charged the government price, or a multiple of it — and which multiple?"

Sources: each hospital's own published price disclosure — Nanxishan Hospital 特需 price disclosure, 9 September 2026 (¥300/¥500/¥800 by title, inpatient consultation ¥800 per day, escort nursing ¥300 per day, errand service ¥100 per day, ¥8,000 and ¥3,000 surgical consultation items), and its separate 特需 ward disclosure of 22 December 2025 (beds ¥80–¥588 by class, obstetric rooms up to ¥880, 特需 nursing ¥45/¥60/¥75, inpatient consultation ¥75); Lishui Central Hospital self-priced services disclosure, 13 August 2026 (特需 clinic service fee ¥300, bedside examination surcharge ¥100, international ward ¥800/¥1,200/¥3,000 per day); Ningbo University Affiliated First Hospital international medical service menu, 14 August 2026 (clinic consultation ¥200–¥500, inpatient consultation ¥150 per day, wards ¥800–¥3,000 per day, and the 2–3× rule for all other services); Shenzhen Longgang District People's Hospital 特需 price disclosure, 21 April 2025 (associate chief ¥600, chief physician ¥800, professor ¥1,000, remote specialist consultation ¥1,500–¥2,000 per hour, all self-pay). Policy framework: Hainan Provincial Healthcare Security Administration policy explainer (four separately priced items only; notice published 10 working days in advance); Hubei Provincial Healthcare Security Administration, Measures for the Management of 特需 Medical Services in Public Medical Institutions (Trial), 鄂医保发〔2026〕22号 (volume and expenditure caps, 10% bed cap, exclusion from basic insurance); Shandong Provincial Government, 鲁卫医字〔2026〕8号 (senior title requirement, price filing, minimum six-month repricing cycle, mandatory public display).

The top tier: private international hospitals

Private hospitals set their own prices and are not bound by the government schedule. They publish price lists, they run 24-hour English lines, and many bill international insurers directly. If your insurance is accepted, the list price is not what you pay, and the tier can in practice be cheaper than the public hospital you pay for yourself — check your policy before ruling it out.

Item Documented price
Ordinary outpatient consultation ¥500–1,800
Specialist consultation ¥840–2,840
Walk-in urgent care (no appointment) ¥1,450–2,880
Emergency department ¥1,860–3,920
Observation bed (per day) ¥1,515–2,670
Inpatient day, general ¥910–2,010
Specialist consultation at the bedside ¥1,090–3,045
Intensive care (per day) ¥4,620–7,035
Neonatal intensive care, first day ¥9,660
Complete blood count ¥285
C-reactive protein ¥200
Urinalysis ¥158
The same laboratory test costs roughly eleven to twenty-three times more at a private international hospital than at a public one Public hospital Private international Complete blood count 5-part analyser ¥25 ¥285 ×11 Urinalysis 10–11 items ¥7 ¥158 ×23 Same test. Same standard. Different door. Multiples are rounded. Public prices from the Shenyang hospital and Henan price disclosures; private prices from Beijing United Family Hospital's published price list.
Both columns are the same automated test on the same sample type. Nothing about the medicine or the result changes between them — what changes is the price list the hospital is allowed to use.

A consultation runs from under ¥10 to over ¥2,800 depending on which door you walk through, and a routine blood test by roughly eleven times — for the same analyser and the same result. You are not buying better medicine; you are buying the service tier.

Source: Beijing United Family Hospital published price list. Other private international hospitals publish lists at comparable levels; get the list for the specific hospital and department you are considering.

Which hospitals these numbers come from

Seven hospitals, in six cities. Every one of them is here for one reason only: it publishes a price document that can be read and quoted. They are not a shortlist, a ranking, or a recommendation.

Hospital City Type What it prices on this page
Henan Provincial Chest Hospital (河南省胸科医院) Zhengzhou, Henan Public Ordinary outpatient consultation, imaging and lab tests, beds and nursing — the fullest list published
Shenyang Municipal Hospital of Traditional Chinese Medicine (沈阳市中医院) Shenyang, Liaoning Public Ordinary outpatient consultation, beds, a range of tests
Nanxishan Hospital (广西壮族自治区南溪山医院) Guilin, Guangxi Public International medical department: consultations by title, inpatient consultation, nursing, wards
Lishui Central Hospital (丽水市中心医院) Lishui, Zhejiang Public International medical department: clinic fee, bedside examination, wards by case complexity
Ningbo University Affiliated First Hospital (宁波大学附属第一医院) Ningbo, Zhejiang Public International medical department: full menu, and the only one that publishes its mark-up rule
Shenzhen Longgang District People's Hospital (深圳市龙岗区人民医院) Shenzhen, Guangdong Public International medical department: consultation tiers, remote specialist consultation
Beijing United Family Hospital (北京和睦家医院) Beijing Private international Full price list: consultations, emergency, inpatient days, intensive care, lab tests
Three things to read correctly.
  • Named is not recommended. These hospitals publish their prices; most Chinese hospitals do not publish online, even though the law says they must display them on site. This list is a measure of disclosure, not of quality.
  • Do not compare across cities. Prices are set province by province, so a cheaper figure in Guilin does not mean Guilin is cheaper for you — it means Guangxi set a different schedule. Use the hospital nearest to where you will actually be, and use this page only to judge whether a figure you have been quoted is plausible.
  • This page deliberately prints no hospital grades. 三甲 (Grade 3A) and the other grades are administrative classifications in China, not a quality ranking for a foreign patient. Printing a grade beside a price turns a price list into a shopping list, which is exactly what this page is trying to avoid.

The absence of your city from that table means nothing. Every public hospital in China is required to display its prices on site and to give you an itemised bill — so the hospital in front of you has the document, whether or not it is on the internet.

The five payments

A hospital visit is not one bill. It is a sequence of separate payments, and each one is a separate queue. Knowing this in advance prevents the most common mistake — budgeting for the treatment and forgetting the four payments around it.

Payment When What it covers
Registration fee Before you see anyone Access to a department and a slot. Higher tiers — specialist, special-needs, international — cost more.
Tests and imaging Paid before the test is performed Blood work, urine, X-ray, CT, MRI, ultrasound, endoscopy. Each ordered item is charged separately.
Medication Paid before you collect it Western drugs, traditional Chinese medicine, herbal decoctions.
Procedures and bed During or after the procedure Surgery, dressings, injections, IV drips, bed fees, nursing. Charged per item and per day.
Follow-up registration Every time you return Showing results to a doctor is normally a new registration and a new fee, not a continuation of the first.

What makes your bill bigger

Factor Effect
Registration tier Ordinary outpatient is the cheapest. Specialist, special-needs and international tiers each add a premium — and in some provinces that premium cascades onto everything downstream.
International department Priced well above the same hospital's ordinary outpatient service. You are buying English, appointments and short waits, not better medicine.
City and province Prices are set provincially. Beijing sits at the top for consultation fees by a wide margin.
Hospital grade Higher-graded hospitals charge more for the same item.
Public or private Public hospitals are bound by government-guided prices. Private hospitals set their own, and they are an order of magnitude higher.
Number of body parts scanned CT and MRI are billed per body part. Two parts, roughly double. Ask what has been ordered.
Contrast agent and consumables Charged separately from the procedure itself, and not visible in a headline price.
No local insurance Without Chinese basic medical insurance you pay the full listed price, with no reimbursement.
Follow-up visits Each return visit re-registers and re-charges.

You have a right to see the prices — use it

This is the most useful thing on this page, and most foreign patients never use it.

Under the rules on hospital internal price management, hospitals are required to establish a price display system and post the prices of commonly used medical services, medicines and medical consumables in a prominent position in the service area — and to update the display when prices change. They must also publish their own price enquiry and complaint phone number in a prominent position.

Separately, hospitals must operate an itemised cost sheet system — in paper or electronic form — covering the name, code, unit price, billing unit, date of use, quantity and amount of each service, medicine and consumable. Hospitals must provide a printed copy when the patient asks for one.

What to actually do. Before you agree to anything beyond a consultation, ask at the cashier or the international department for the printed price list (价格公示表). Then, after paying, ask for a printed itemised cost sheet (费用清单) for every payment. Check that each line matches something you agreed to. This is not confrontational — it is a service hospitals are required to provide.

There is also a market regulator's complaint hotline, 12315, for pricing problems. Hospitals are required to display it. A 2026 draft regulation would go further — requiring hospitals with websites to publish a permanent link to consolidated price information, and stating explicitly that the settled price may not exceed the displayed price. That regulation was still out for public consultation in February 2026, so treat it as direction of travel rather than current law.

How to get a written estimate before you commit

  1. Ask the international department for a cost estimate in writing (费用预估). For anything involving admission or surgery, some hospitals will only provide one after reviewing your records — so send the records first.
  2. Ask what is excluded. An estimate for a procedure frequently excludes the pre-operative tests, the bed, the medication and the follow-up. Get each of those listed separately, or assume they are extra.
  3. Ask which charging model applies to non-consultation services — government price, or a multiple of it. See the 特需 section above; the difference on a surgery is large.
  4. Ask how many body parts are being scanned, if imaging is involved.
  5. Ask whether prepayment or a deposit is required. Some hospitals ask international patients to pay in advance or lodge a deposit before scheduling a procedure. This changes your cash planning and can also serve as proof of funds for a visa application.
  6. Ask which payment methods are accepted. Do this before you choose the hospital, not on the day. Payment is the single most common point of failure for foreign patients.
  7. Ask for the price display. Cross-check every figure in the estimate against the hospital's displayed prices.

Insurance: pay first, claim later

Most international health insurance operates on reimbursement in mainland China. You pay the hospital, then claim. That means three things:

If you are legally employed in China, your employer is required to enrol you in social insurance including employee basic medical insurance, and that changes the arithmetic substantially. Check whether you are enrolled before assuming you are paying full price.

Six ways foreign patients overpay

  1. Using the international department for everything. Take the ¥800 consultation for the diagnosis, then walk two floors down and pay the government price for the blood test. You are not required to stay in one tier for all of it — ask whether you can.
  2. Paying for a follow-up you did not need to re-register for. Ask whether the department has a same-visit review rule before assuming you must pay again.
  3. Never asking for the price list. You cannot compare what you cannot see, and the difference between tiers is a factor of ten.
  4. Not keeping invoices. The most expensive mistake, because it is irreversible.
  5. Taking a brand-name medicine without asking for the generic name. Ask the hospital pharmacy for the generic name, then price it.
  6. Assuming the estimate is the total. It almost never is.

What this page does not do

It does not rank hospitals and it does not recommend one. The hospitals named on this page — in the 特需 table and in the list above — are named because they publish the price documents quoted here, which is the only reason any of them appears. If a hospital near you is not listed, that is a fact about its website, not about its medicine.

The ranges above are a planning tool: they tell you what order of magnitude to expect and whether a figure you have been quoted is plausible. They are not a quote, and they will drift as provinces revise their schedules. Get the actual number from the hospital that will treat you, and get it in writing. This page is not medical advice, and not financial advice.

Sources

Everything factual on this page traces to the following. Where a rule is time-limited or still in draft, that is stated in the entry.

Most of these are Chinese government or hospital pages. A few of them load slowly outside China, or refuse requests from non-Chinese networks. If a link does not open, search the document's title or its reference number — for example 鄂医保发〔2026〕22号 — and you will find the same document elsewhere.

  1. National Healthcare Security Administration and seven other departments — Implementation Plan for the Pilot Reform of Medical Service Pricing (医保发〔2021〕41号) — Article 12: 特需 services and new items are market-priced with filing; market-priced items and expenditure capped at 10% of all medical services
  2. Hubei Provincial Healthcare Security Administration — policy note on the Measures for the Management of 特需 Medical Services in Public Medical Institutions (Trial) (鄂医保发〔2026〕22号) — tertiary public institutions may offer 特需 services; market-priced; item count and expenditure each capped at 10%; 特需 beds capped at 10% of licensed beds; excluded from basic insurance
  3. Shandong Provincial Government — Opinions on Regulating and Guiding the Development of 特需 Medical Services in Public Medical Institutions (鲁卫医字〔2026〕8号) — 特需 clinic doctors must hold senior titles; international medical services defined; market prices must be filed, repricing no more often than every six months; prices must be publicly displayed
  4. Hainan Provincial Healthcare Security Administration — policy explainer on 特需 medical services — only four items may be separately priced (outpatient consultation, inpatient bed, inpatient consultation, nursing); other services, drugs and consumables must remain at government prices; notice required 10 working days in advance; worked example of ¥18 versus ¥200 for the same doctor
  5. Beijing Municipal Health Commission — explainer on the Beijing medical service fee (医事服务费) — registration and consultation fees abolished and replaced by a medical service fee from 8 April 2017: ¥50 ordinary outpatient, ¥60 associate chief, ¥80 chief, ¥100 named expert, ¥70 emergency, ¥100 per inpatient day at tertiary hospitals
  6. Beijing Municipal Government — medical service fee charges and reimbursement standards — the same schedule for tertiary, secondary and primary institutions, with the reimbursement split
  7. Henan Provincial Healthcare Security Administration — notice consolidating consultation and ultrasound price items (豫医保办〔2025〕51号) — outpatient consultation ¥10 at tertiary level, plus ¥6 for associate chief and ¥11 for chief physician
  8. Yunnan Provincial Healthcare Security Administration — price schedule for consultation and related items — ordinary outpatient consultation capped at ¥10 / ¥8 / ¥6 by institution class; add-ons for associate chief, chief and named expert
  9. Bazhong Municipal Healthcare Security Administration (Sichuan) — reply on outpatient consultation fees — ¥9 ordinary, ¥13 associate chief, ¥15 chief physician at tertiary level; 特需 is a market-priced item filed with the bureau
  10. Shenyang Municipal Health Commission — schedule of maximum prices for general medical services — ordinary outpatient ¥9.60, associate chief ¥14.40, chief physician ¥19.20, named experts ¥36 / ¥60 / ¥96 at city-level tertiary hospitals
  11. Shenyang Municipal Hospital of Traditional Chinese Medicine — 2025 medical service price disclosure — published 28 September 2025: consultation fees matching the municipal schedule, emergency ¥24, inpatient consultation ¥14.40 per day, beds ¥39 / ¥74 / ¥77 / ¥150 / ¥480, ultrasound ¥99, complete blood count ¥25.30, urinalysis ¥7, stool routine ¥10, 14C breath test ¥110
  12. Henan Provincial Chest Hospital — tertiary hospital price disclosure (20 May 2026) — outpatient consultation ¥10, convenience clinic ¥0.50, emergency ¥21, inpatient consultation ¥23 per day, beds ¥18 / ¥32 / ¥47 / ¥65 / ¥262, nursing ¥15 / ¥25 / ¥50 / ¥162, X-ray ¥47, mammogram ¥100, CT ¥195 plain / ¥265 contrast / ¥520 angiography, MRI ¥504 plain / ¥555 contrast
  13. Guang'an Municipal Development and Reform Commission and others (Sichuan) — notice lowering prices for large medical equipment examinations — CT ¥156 per body part and MRI ¥506 per body part at tertiary hospitals under the reduced schedule
  14. Shanghai Medical Security Bureau — notice regulating MRI and CT price items (沪医保价采发〔2021〕33号) — CT and MRI to be billed per body part rather than per session; hospitals may not split one examination into multiple chargeable parts; the attached schedule is the maximum charge for Shanghai public hospitals
  15. Guangxi Zhuang Autonomous Region Nanxishan Hospital (Second People’s Hospital of Guangxi) — 特需 medical service price disclosure (9 September 2026) — international medical department: consultation ¥300 attending / ¥500 associate chief / ¥800 chief physician; inpatient consultation ¥800 per day (chief) and ¥500 (associate chief); outpatient nursing ¥500, escort nursing ¥300, errand service ¥100 per day; outpatient consultation items for grade 3–4 surgery ¥8,000 and grade 1–2 surgery ¥3,000; hospital telephone 0773-3817908, supervision line 12315
  16. Nanxishan Hospital — 特需 ward and nursing price disclosure (22 December 2025) — separate disclosure for the 特需 ward: beds ¥80–¥588 per day by room class, obstetric rooms ¥138–¥880, 特需 nursing ¥45/¥60/¥75 per day, inpatient consultation ¥75 per day; filed with the Guilin health commission and medical security bureau under 桂医保发〔2025〕33号
  17. Lishui Central Hospital / Fifth Affiliated Hospital of Wenzhou Medical University (Zhejiang) — self-priced medical service price disclosure (13 August 2026) — international medical department: clinic service fee ¥300; bedside examination surcharge ¥100 per visit; international ward ¥800 (non-surgical) / ¥1,200 (peri-operative) / ¥3,000 (complex or multi-site surgery) per day; doctors associate-chief rank and above; all self-pay under 浙价费〔2000〕10号 and 丽医保发〔2026〕6号
  18. Ningbo University Affiliated First Hospital — international medical service self-priced charge menu (14 August 2026) — international clinic consultation ¥200 and ¥500; specialist clinic ¥300 associate chief / ¥500 senior; inpatient consultation ¥150 per day; international wards ¥800–¥2,000 per day at Yuehu campus and ¥1,000–¥3,000 at Fangqiao campus; states in its own notes that all other clinical tests, examinations, treatment, anaesthesia, surgery and nursing are charged at 2–3× the government price
  19. Shenzhen Longgang District People's Hospital — 特需 medical service price disclosure (21 April 2025) — five new 特需 items filed with the Shenzhen Medical Security Bureau: professor-level named expert ¥1,000, chief physician ¥800, associate chief ¥600 per consultation; remote specialist consultation ¥2,000 per hour (international) and ¥1,500 (domestic); all self-pay; named-expert doctors must come from A+ graded tertiary hospitals or top-50 ranked medical schools
  20. Beijing United Family Hospital — published price list — private international hospital: ordinary outpatient ¥500–¥1,800, specialist ¥840–¥2,840, emergency ¥1,860–¥3,920, inpatient day ¥910–¥2,010, intensive care ¥4,620–¥7,035 per day, complete blood count ¥285, C-reactive protein ¥200
  21. State Council — Provisions on the Management of Internal Price Conduct in Medical Institutions — Article 15 price display duty; Article 16 itemised cost sheet and printed copy on request; provincial review of new price items
  22. SAMR — announcement of public consultation on the draft Provisions on Price Display in Medical Institutions — consultation ran 13 February to 16 March 2026 and has closed; the draft would require a permanent price-information link on hospital websites and bar settlement above the displayed price. Not yet in force as at the date of this review
  23. Chuzhou Market Supervision Administration — notice on medical institution pricing — public hospitals bound by government-guided prices; private hospitals price market-adjusted items themselves; 12315 complaint line
  24. Ministry of Human Resources and Social Security — Interim Measures on Social Insurance for Foreigners Employed in China — employer must enrol foreign employees in employee basic medical insurance; registration within 30 days of the work permit
  25. State Council — Regulation on the Prevention and Handling of Medical Disputes, Article 16 — right to inspect and copy medical records; copying fee must be publicly posted

Reviewed 2026-09-14.